Amador Medallion Award

Charles Warren Receives One of Kiwanis’ Highest Honors

Charles Warren of the Kiwanis Club of Zion-Benton has received one of the highest honors Kiwanis bestows on its members, the Dr. Luis V. Amador Medallion Award. The award was presented to Warren at the club’s recent Installation Dinner.

The medal is named in honor and memory of Dr. Luis V. Amador, the medical director of the Spastic Paralysis Research Foundation and professor of clinical surgery at Northwestern Medical School in Chicago. The award combines Kiwanis admiration for Dr. Amador with admiration for many other individuals who, through service, inspire all.

The Kiwanis Club of Zion-Benton nominated Warren for the award, noting that, “From the time he joined our club in 1982, Warren began full participation in the club’s Peanut Days fundraiser, establishing his business as the focal point for activities and main distribution point.” Warren also organizes kitchen duties for the club’s annual Pancake Breakfast fundraiser, participates in the Mother’s Day Flower delivery, and is the point-person for collecting toys for local children. Warren has served as club president twice and currently serves as the club’s program chairman. He has held this position for many years, scheduling guest speakers, who add value to the club’s weekly meetings.

Previous Amador Medallion Recipients:

  • 1994-1995: Normal LaPell – Medallion #27
  • 1998-1999: Lee Kraft – Medallion #93 
  • 1999-2000: Paul Last – Medallion #115
  •  2002-2003: James Wiedner – Medallion #196 
  •  2004-2005: Virgie Brown – Medallion #235 
  • 2005-2006: Dr. Mary Budzik – Medallion #257 
  • 2011-2012: Cheryl Fischer – Medallion #383
  • 2016-2017: Charles Warren
  • 2018-2019: Gerald Olson